Return to Headlines

Petal School District Names Campus Teachers of the Year

October 29, 2021 

PETAL, Miss. – The Petal School District (PSD) named its 2021-22 Campus Teachers of the Year on Thursday and Friday morning, October 28-29. District administrators made a surprise visit to each school to announce the winners, while staff and students joined in to celebrate them.

The 2021-22 Teachers of the Year are: Stephanie Fairley (Petal Primary School – second grade sped inclusion), Tarika Moffett (Petal Elementary School – third grade ELA), Katie Watkins (Petal Upper Elementary – fifth grade ELA), Shannon Rehm (Petal Middle School – eighth grade Science), and Skye Morgan (Petal High School – 11th grade US History).

Campus winners were selected through a nomination and voting process of all staff at each school. Each winner received a cake provided by Corner Market, a banner, balloon bouquet, and gift card.

“I cannot think of a greater honor than to be recognized by your peers and administrators,” said Dr. Matt Dillon, superintendent of schools. “Congratulations to all our campus Teachers of the Year! We are so fortunate to have these outstanding educators in our district,” Dillon said.

The campus winners are now eligible for District Teacher of the Year, based on an application process and selected by an outside committee. The district winner will be announced at mid-year convocation and will represent PSD in the state Teacher of the Year competition.

# # #

Stephanie Fairley, Petal Primary School

Tarika Moffett, Petal Elementary School

Katie Watkins, Petal Upper Elementary School

Shannon Rehm, Petal Middle School

Skye Morgan, Petal High School