Skip To Main Content
Petal School District Names 2023-24 Campus Teachers of the Year

Media Contact
Jennifer Rigney, Public Information Officer

November 14, 2023

PETAL, Miss. – Petal School District (PSD) administrators made a surprise visit to each school this morning to announce the 2023-24 campus Teachers of the Year, while staff and students joined in to celebrate them.

The 2023-24 Teachers of the Year are: Melanie Hendry - Petal Primary School; Caitlyn Castille - Petal Elementary School; Kelly Ervin - Petal Upper Elementary; Molly Graham - Petal Middle School; and Haley Hebert - Petal High School.

Campus winners were selected through a nomination and voting process of all staff at each school. Each winner received a banner, a cake provided by Corner Market and gift card from the school’s church adopter.

“Congratulations to all our campus Teachers of the Year,” said Dr. Matt Dillon, superintendent of schools. “What a great honor for them to be recognized by their peers and administrators for the positive impact they have had on our students and staff. We are so fortunate to have these outstanding educators in our district,” Dillon said.

The campus winners are now eligible for district Teacher of the Year, based on an application process and selection by an outside committee. The district winner will be announced at the end of the semester and will represent PSD in the state Teacher of the Year competition.

# # #

Melanie Hendry - Petal Primary School

Caitlyn Castille - Petal Elementary School

Kelly Ervin - Petal Upper Elementary

Molly Graham - Petal Middle School

Haley Hebert - Petal High School